Center for Educational Services organizes a Senior Recognition Brunch | News, Sports, Jobs

Emily McNicol, a senior from Wellsville High School, was recognized as a recipient of the Franklin B. Walter Scholastic Award.

The Columbiana County Educational Services Center hosted its annual Senior Honors Recognition Brunch on Thursday, April 28 at the Salem Golf Club.

The participants, made up of parents, students, superintendents, principals, school counselors and educators, ate a breakfast in honor of the students.

Twelve Columbiana County high school seniors who scored in the 97th percentile or higher on the ACT received recognition and an award as “The head above the others.” The Columbiana County Educational Services Center has been honoring high achieving students for 22 years.

This year’s students come from Columbiana, Crestview, East Liverpool, East Palestine, Leetonia, Lisbon and Salem.

Eleven students were recognized for being nominated for the Franklin B. Walter Scholarship. The award encompasses academic achievement, leadership roles, work and volunteer roles, and student honors.

Head above the other Students: left to right, front row, John Buffone, Leetonia; Ian Ziegler, Salem; Nicolas Colbert, Salem; Lucas Ziegler, Salem; Evan Smith, Eastern Palestine; back row, Collin Gallagher, Salem; Drake Daugherty, Colombian; Aaron White, East Liverpool; Kyle Peters, Crestview; Matthew Wollet, Crestview; Ryan Emch, Crestview. Not pictured: Rowan Toalston, Lisbon David Anderson.

Named for state superintendent from 1977 to 1991, this award recognizes one student from each of Ohio’s 88 counties. McNicol also received a $500 scholarship from the Columbiana County Educational Service Center.

At the same time, local teachers were honored as “Star Educators.” Each year, past recipients of the “Head above the others” nominate a teacher who has had a profound and positive effect on the student. This year, fifteen educators received this distinction.

Teachers come from Columbiana, Crestview, East Liverpool, Salem, Southern Local, St. Paul School, United, Wellsville.

— Material submitted

Franklin B. Walter Nominees: left to right, front row, Samuel Murray, Salem; Emily Walker, Southern Local; Christopher Cannon, United States; Robert C. Harris IV, Lisbon; John Buffone, Leetonia; Emily McNicol, Wellsville (scholarship winner); back row, Evan Smith, Eastern Palestine; Brady Smith; Beaver room; Drake Daugherty, Colombian; Aaron White, East Liverpool. Not pictured: Maci Shaffer, Crestview.

STAR educators: left to right, front row, Grady Long, Crestview; Elaine Meals, United States; Kathy Vrabel, Crestview; Julie Voorhees; East of Liverpool; Colleen Campbell, Colombian; Christina Hovanec, Wellsville; John Lukes, Salem; back row, Rosalyn Hardgrove, United; Veronica Kotel, Crestview; Charles Miller, Colombian; Jennifer Sant, Colombian; Alyssa Lockhart, Southern Local; Lisa Frederick, Salem; Dave Pancurak, St. Paul School. Not pictured: Jordyn Burke, Salem.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Janice G. Ball